The Saturday Smoothie

Leave a comment
Cooking & Recipes

Sunday mornings are all about pancakes, truffle eggs, or peanut butter on sourdough, but on Saturdays I like to keep it pure with a post-run smoothie (particularly when I’ve overindulged on a Friday night pizza). I go for a base mixture of plain yoghurt and milk and add ingredients like frozen berries, coconut oil, seeds, and nut butters.

My all time favourite smoothie is Blackberry & Almond, which I make by blending half a cup of frozen blackberries, a tablespoon of almond butter, and a teaspoon of chia seeds with the milk and yoghurt.

For my Coconut Vanilla version, I add a scoop of vanilla protein powder to the base, and blend in a tablespoon of coconut oil,  a tablespoon of cashew butter, and a teaspoon of flax seeds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Both give a super hit of nutrients and fibre when I’m in a rush, or just want to get the weekend off to a clean start (in anticipation of Sunday’s wine and cheese).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Leave a Reply

