Sunday Pancakes

Leave a comment
Cooking & Recipes

If I go out for breakfast, chances are I’m ordering the pancakes – whether drizzled in maple syrup or sprinkled with lemon and sugar, they’re easily my number one choice. I can remember my dad making my brother and I pancakes for breakfast during school holidays (always such an exciting and highly-anticipated event), and these days I like to reserve them for special occasions like lazy long weekends. I like my pancakes thick, light, and fluffy, and this yoghurt-based recipe is the best I’ve tried for creating the perfect texture. The yoghurt’s naturally-occurring acids react with bicarbonate of soda to create carbon dioxide, and therefore, lovely airy pancakes. But enough science, here’s the recipe (adapted from Adam Liaw’s Yoghurt Pikelets):

In a large bowl, whisk together 1 egg, 1.5 tablespoons of caster sugar, and 1.5 cups of natural plain yoghurt. Sift in 1 cup of plain flour and 1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda, and gently fold everything together until the mixture is thick and airy. It will seem a bit lumpy, but over-work not lest your pancakes be sad and un-airy. Melt a little butter in a small non-stick pan, then spoon in about a saucer-sized dollop of batter. Cook for two minutes on each side or until nicely golden, then repeat with the rest of the mixture. I like to serve mine with fresh berries and ricotta, a strong espresso, and a good book.

Leave a Reply

