Five Things For May

6 comments
Amusement & Lifestyle, Primping & Preening

I’m no beauty blogger, but as an enthusiastic patron of skincare, haircare and makeup, I’m partial to posting a few ramblings on the subjects every now and then. Here’s a quick rundown of five rather impressive products I’ve taken for a spin in the lead up to winter.

Frank | Original Coffee Scrub I’ve never been one to bother with the palaver of body scrubs, but when this was gifted to me with the bold claim that it would be life-changing, I had to give it a go. Packed with all-natural ingredients, it tackles a range of woes on the skin spectrum including dryness, stretch marks, cellulite, eczema, psoriasis, acne and scarring. It’s an absurdly excellent scrub, and I was genuinely floored by how smooth and polished it left my skin feeling. As it’s a dry scrub it’s a tad on the messy side (which is not helped by the rudely cute but altogether impractical coffee-bag packaging), but it’s a con I’m willing to overlook considering it’s also quite possibly the most delicious-smelling product I’ve ever come across – chocolatey notes from the coffee combine with brown sugar, almond oil, and orange essence. Kinda like cake mix for your skin. Check out the Frank online store here.

The Living Proof | Perfect Hair Day Last November I chopped off the vast majority of my hair to just below the chin, and apart from kicking myself for not doing it earlier, my main challenge post-cut has been working out how the heck to style it. I want it to be smooth but not flat, voluminous but not frizzy, nourished but not greasy, and so need a little product to help things along. Enter this multiple-threat gem, which smooths, voluminises, conditions, strengthens, and polishes, and has a lovely citrus scent to boot. I run some through my hair post-wash/pre blow-dry for (almost) effortlessly manageable locks. I got mine over at Strawberry Net.

Oskia | Renaissance Cleansing Gel I first spotted this over at Vivianna Does Makeup and have been lusting after it ever since. I like to think of it as Turkish Delight in a bottle, thanks to the lovely rosy scent and colour, but seriously, it’s an absolute gem of a cleanser. It has an oil-like texture once applied to the skin, so offers the lovely dose of nourishment my skin demands coming into winter, with nary a hint of greasiness to speak of. I like to leave it on for a few minutes as a mask for a super boost of nourishment, and it leaves my skin looking smooth and bright. I got mine from Beauty Bay during one of their sales.

Sephora | Lip Cream Stain in 01 Sometimes a girl just has to don a red lip, and this cool-toned shade is my current favourite. It’s the perfect blue-toned red coming into the winter months, and this is one of the best formulas I’ve come across – it sets almost instantly, and once it’s on, it ain’t coming off in a hurry. The formula even passed The Burger Test, which is saying something, especially considering I am not the world’s most graceful eater. High on my list of current grievances is that the Sephora store in Sydney only stocks two shades at the moment, but you can check out the full range of sixteen shades here.

Alpha-H | Protection Plus Daily SPF 50+ Living in Australia it’s Safety First when it comes to the sun, and this high-protection facial sunscreen is my daily go-to even in the less sunny months. It does a bit of everything – protects from UV rays, rights free radicals, hydrates, smooths and mattifies. It was the mattifying factor that sold me on this one – as an oily skinned gal with a healthy obsession with sun protection, it can be tricky finding a facial suncreen that doesn’t aggravate the greasy situation and generally feel heavy and unpleasant on the skin. This has an almost primer-like texture, so absorbs beautifully and takes care of any excess shine while really smoothing out the complexion. I’m a big fan of the rest of the Alpha-H range too (especially Liquid Gold and the Vitamin C serum) and always keep an eye out for a sale over at Adore Beauty.

6 thoughts on “Five Things For May”

  1. I’ve seen so many pictures of people using Frank’s scrub – I really want to try it out now! ❤

    • You won’t regret it Arielle! I think I’ll try the coconut scrub next – it looks like a winner.

  2. Mal says:

    I use this too! 🙂 Have you tried the body balm? I might give that a go.

    • No I haven’t Mal, but it’s definitely on the must-try list. Need to do me a haul I think!

  3. Pingback: The Guide | Oily Skin (and how to tame it) | the gingham

  4. Pingback: Five things for September | the gingham

Leave a Reply

